Bangla Academy award declared

বৃহস্পতিবার, ২৯ জানুয়ারী ২০১৫

29 January 2015 Bangla Academy Sahitya Puroskar-2014 was announced in seven out of ten categories this afternoon, ahead of the Ekushey Book Fair beginning February 1.
Journalist Shihab Sarkar received the award for poetry, physician Zakir Talukdar in kotha sahitya (literature), former professor of Comilla University Shantanu Kaiser in essays and former professor of Bangla at Chittagong University Bhuiyan Iqbal for research.
Among others, Prof Abu Mohammad Delwar Hossain of Dhaka University's history department got the award for his work on the Liberation War, Bangladeshi expatriate writer Mainush Sultan in the biography and travelogue category and journalist Khaleque Bin Zainuddin for juvenile literature.
No awardees were announced for three categories -- translation works, drama and science, technology and environment due to lack of significant work under these genres.
The awardees will receive the prestigious prize from the Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on February 1 at the inauguration of the book fair and the international literature festival 2015, said Prof Shamsuzzaman Khan, director general of Bangla Academy, while announcing the names of the winners at a press conference at the academy.
"However, Mainush Sultan, who is currently in Sierra Leone, will not attend the ceremony as he cannot leave the Ebola affected nation," he added.
The awardees would receive an honorarium of Tk 1 lakh, a crest and a certificate.

সর্বশেষ আপডেট বুধবার, ৩০ নভেম্বর -১ ০৬:০০
Joomla Templates and Joomla Extensions by JoomlaVision.Com
Joomla Templates and Joomla Extensions by JoomlaVision.Com

Wide Reading


June 2017


Demo JV Right


< January 2015 >
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 30 31